The Sinner (TV Series 2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Add a Review
75 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Give it a go and you will be stuck before you know
Vikas Raghav10 August 2017
This show is the BEST THRILLER to come out in a long time.

It's the type of the show where you are always inside the screen. you are paying close attention to every little details, you are trying to connect all the dots, you want to untangle the characters get in their mind, solve the mystery and at last you will be asking "WHY CORA TANNETTI DID THIS??"

The performances are top notch, you can see inside the character through the actor. Jessica Biel really leads the show in an extraordinary manner.

The plot is amazing and writing make sure the show is always connected to the original content.

The mystery deepens with every episode and you will be left crying for the next one. DON'T MISS IT!!!
69 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Promising Why-dunit
atlasmb11 August 2017
Cora (Jessica Biel) is a normal looking young woman who commits a shocking crime in full view of many witnesses. As viewers, we witness the crime also, so there is no doubt of her guilt.

Means and opportunity are never in question, but what is the motive? That is the central mystery around which this series revolves. And it is the question that drives police detective Harry Ambrose (Bill Pullman) to dig deeper despite Cora's confession of guilt.

Ambrose is a sad sack character who seems to commune better with nature than with people. Perhaps he understands compulsion and seeks to unravel his own while investigating Cora's.

In the first episode, Cora says, "I never thought that I would have a normal life." This is a major clue that her behavior may be rooted in her early years. Throughout the show, there are flashbacks to various happenings from all periods of Cora's life--clues that form pieces of the jigsaw puzzle solution.

As for the acting, most of the heavy hauling involves Biel and Pullman, who are convincing. The tone of the show is moody, suggesting the turmoil that lies just beneath the surface.

It remains to be seen if the writing can weave a tale that keeps the story interesting over the course of the 8-episode season. This is a good start.

Update 8/25/17: After four episodes, I am raising my grade to "8". The story is riveting. I would recommend this show to anyone who likes a good police mystery.
42 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
On the edge of my seat...
sierrakhunter14 September 2017
I have never noticed Jessica Biel's acting as anything other than sub-par, but I am blown away at how great she is in this roll! You can tell she's hiding something or has blocked her past out for one reason or another. Every episode ends with a cliffhanger! I am on episode 7 of the 8 and I have no idea what's going to happen next! The unpredictability of this show and the characters. I am just as confused with Bill Pullman's character and the why he feels inclined to help or figure out why Cora did what she did. I can't wait till next Wednesday! I love a good show that I can't figure out the ending!
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very Promising
killer1h4 August 2017
This show struck me as intriguing. Now going into this I had no idea what to expect, of course there was the preview where a woman kills a man and that's about it. So where does this show differ from others?

We'll lets start with the basics, the atmosphere. Even as you start the first episode you can tell something isn't right with the relationship, it feels like it's more forced on one person then the other. Second there's the general mood, it seems like the mother is under lots of pressure to do a bunch of stuff that she doesn't actually have any desire to do. And of course the in-laws who by all accounts are basically just pushing in on her.

This all adds up to a very interesting scenario where you know something's gonna give, but you're not quite sure what.

8/10 A very nice start.
42 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Stuck like glue......
dominiquemirza16 August 2017
I've always loved Jessica Biel and now I know why!!! I have been hooked since I saw the trailer. This series is amazing and has me on the edge of my seat for the entire hour each and every time. No matter how exciting a scene gets, you will always be left wondering and in amazement as to what's coming next. I'm so psyched over this!!! Wednesday can't come soon enough!
32 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Not read the book (yet), really liked the show so far.
Elf10 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I love crime/thriller novels but I hadn't read The Sinner yet. I personally think shows should be seen independently because adapting a book completely to screen is impossible and could easily get boring and vice versa.

The first episode was good. Of course as you would expect from the first episode of crime shows it was more about giving a first impression about the characters and the crime. I personally didn't think it was slow but if you did, it would be unfair to judge the show by its "cover." You can tell there's more about Cora than just killing seemingly a stranger.

**SPOILER**

Someone in reviews has written "If Jessica Biel was anymore subdued in this role I would think that she was dead..." No, dude, it's not bad acting, it's good acting. Biel's character Cora, before she commits the murder, does something in the river that appears to be like she was trying to kill herself. Cora IS depressed and in a mental state that makes her kill someone may or may not be over just a song. Biel's acting to reflect that emotion is pretty damn great, I think.

**END OF SPOILER**

The second episode was better than the first. We see the murder and the story behind it are more complex. We see how Cora and her husband Mason met. More information about Cora's abusive mother and family life growing up. And more. Like I said, I'm a fan of crime/thriller novels and this show really feels like one. I would recommend.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
There's no Season Two. So enjoy!
Craig16 October 2017
Literally sat down to check out the first episode and binge-watched all 8 episodes in one long day! The chances of that happening are pretty slim in my busy world, so it better be good. This is a smart, tight, psychological thriller with some great imaginative writing. Plenty of twists to keep you going, "next episode, please" and Jessica Biel is perfectly cast and Bill Pullman works as the salty, troubled detective. It took a couple episodes to warm to his portrayal, but he eventually owned the role. You'll have to pay attention watching this one as there are a lot of moving parts and interconnections that come together as the show goes on. It reminded me some of the really good British crime dramas like Broadchurch, The Fall or The Tunnel. There's no season two, so enjoy.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It's early on, but I'm interested
t-unknown-one3 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
There's no question Jessica Biels character had a disturbing childhood and that this is the root of it all but I think it might be an interesting ride. I like Bill Pullmans somewhat wise, patriarchal demeanor in characters like this. (see Brokedown Palace, Independence Day) I don't mind his fixation on plants and randomly sharing his botanical prowess with people who don't care at non sequitur moments, I have actually known people like that and it lends an eccentric, "quirky" air to his character though I could do without his sexual quirks. It didn't seem to fit and threw me off liking him. Who knows what lurks in the hearts of men? Actually, nobody. It's been a long time since I've watched anything on USA and I was surprised to see the husband character put Biels hand on his aroused crotch. I guess they have to sell it. Also of interest is that Jessica Biel is executive producer of the show. I'll stick around and see how this unravels.
42 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
We know what, but we don't know why.
stankactorman13 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
THE SINNER: (USA Wed, 10/9c) After two episodes of this 8 parter, I'm hooked on this intriguing story starring Jessica Biel, as Cora, a married mom, who for no reason, one bright sunny day, stabs to death an apparent total stranger on a lake front beach in front of her husband, young son and dozens of witnesses. It's pretty clear cut. Dozens saw it, she confesses to it, refuses to say more and pleads guilty, but the judge orders an evaluation before passing judgment. In steps Bill Pullman who turns in a marvelously subtle performance as the detective assigned to investigate, playing it more like psychiatrist than cop who listens analytically to her confession. Biel is equally outstanding as the tortured soul. Cora's backstory gives us the reason for the title. Her sick bitch religious zealot of a mother tells her that Cora used up so much of her energy during her pregnancy with her, that her body had little left to devote to her sister and the mother piles on the guilt when the sister has a setback by telling Cora she isn't praying hard or long enough and therefor Cora is to blame for her sister's condition because she's not doing her share. No spoiler alert because I don't really know, but I'm going to venture a guess that shades of Primal Fear may come into play. It's taut. It's gripping. It's a fascinating story, beautifully acted and directed. Score: 9. WATCH IT. Let's pray it doesn't poop out at the end like some similarly formatted shows (American Crime) have done.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good Start
benrobo9 August 2017
I agree with some of the other reviews here.

There's obviously something wrong here but it's only ever suggested. The music and some of the camera work add to general uneasy feeling that something is not right with Jessica Biel's character, but as you'd expect for a first episode, there are a lot of questions raised and very little answered.

The acting here is solid from all parties.

Looks promising for the series ahead.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews