IMDb > "This Is Us" (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"This Is Us"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"This Is Us" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 126 reviews in total 

119 out of 141 people found the following review useful:

Pleasant Surprise

9/10
Author: Harun Karali from Turkey
21 September 2016

I think we can all admit that it's hard to create a show that stands out, As we are at a time where television is at it's pinnacle point. So when I started this show I was expecting a mildly entertaining series. What I got, is, a show that is real. So much so, that it brought tears to my eyes. That should tell you all you need to know about this beautiful tale about life. The story revolves around a few characters that seem to be unrelated. Just like the facts that were stated in the beginning of the show. However they have more in common than you realize. What sets this show apart from most, isn't the ending, But the journey you take in-between. As someone who's seen many new shows this year, both comedy and drama, I can say with absolute certainty, this is the most memorable. Not only because of it's outstanding story telling but because of it's cast, who bring life to the story.

Was the above review useful to you?

81 out of 109 people found the following review useful:

Best Pilot in ages. (Spoilers)

9/10
Author: Patrick Splinter from Edina, MN
21 September 2016

SPOILER ALERT

First I am a hard person to fool. The Village. Figured it out. Many others. The Sixth Sense and Fight club got me and that's why I love them. I love to be taken down a path and then realize everything wasn't as it seems.

When the fireman lit the cigarette I realized it was 1980. But I still didn't get that those three would be raised together until the nursery with the knit onesies. I'm good at this stuff and the acting and characters blew me away that I wasn't looking for it.

Best Pilot ever. IMHO.

Then I thought. Well they can't do that every episode because if you are looking for twists you find them. If I was told there was a twist at the end, I would have figured it out (everyone's birthday on the same day, etc). But the fact one was black and the other two were twins threw me. PLUS the fact one was "Ryan Gosling" body and the other was overweight threw me that they were twins. Both played on stereotypes which I Loved they made us look into ourselves a little.

So where does the show go from here? It has a great premise. Dual time lines. You can do a lot with that. Have stories play out with flashbacks to tell a larger story (ala Lost). The casting was nailed with exceptional talent. I was interested in every character. They even nailed it by casting Simon and Simon vet Gerald McRaney. He was the glue that MADE that story line click. He speech on the chair was Emmy worthy. I hope he is a regular cast member and explore his wife's death and the death of his one child.

I'm hooked for at least season one. No need for twists. The dual time lines and great characters is enough for me. They can bounce all around in the 80s when the "triplets" are 4 or 10 or 15. triple time lines or more. Milo and Mandy can be made to look older and cast kids to play the parts at different ages. So much room to explore. I predict a good 4-7 year run.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

Loved the first episode !

10/10
Author: eddieo1969 from United Kingdom
21 September 2016

I don't write many reviews I'm often tempted but don't get round to it. It might be because most of the time when i'm tempted it's because a series or a films is really really bad, so instead I decided to spend my time tying to find something that's good to watch. Now, I have only watched the first episode and normally I would want to watch a few more before making my mind up but I the case of "This is us" I feel compelled to comment on the pilot episode.

I LOVED IT ! It was wonderfully written, cleverly written, well acted with a good cast. I felt for the main character, they werre interesting and I want to know what happens to them. I was going to go into details about the main characters but I don't wont to spoil anything for you, all I will say is watch the pilot episode I will add that this is not the type of programme I tend to watch "family's struggling in the modern world" the "ups and downs of life" but after one episode I cant recommend this series enough I just hope it continues in the same manner.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

Innovative and Surprising

9/10
Author: drjgardner from California
28 September 2016

This is a very inventive story line so I won't refer to it, except to say that both the first and second episodes have real surprises. Avoid reading any reviews with spoilers. It will dampen your joy as you figure things out.

The acting is excellent and the script is well written. This looks like a comedy but in fact it has some profoundly dramatic moments. I want to single out some of the actors who were terrific – Milo Ventimiglia (played Rocky Jr), Mandy Moore ("Tangled"), Ron Cephas Jones, Sterling K. Brown (Chris Darden in "OJ") and Susan Kelechi Watson ("Louie"). Gerald McRaney does a cameo in Episode 1 which may be some of his best work ever.

The disadvantage of a TV series like this is that it requires the audience to participate and fill in the gaps. Many people will not understand what's happening, so this is the type of series that is best viewed twice, or however long it takes you to get it.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Amazing Drama

10/10
Author: Leah Martin from Australia
2 October 2016

Wow, what a come back for TV Drama. This is a multi layered, moving and totally relate-able show and so so entertaining. I am already so invested and have only watched two episodes. The leading cast are amazing with some of my all time favorites (looking at you Milo) and supporting cast seem more than adequate to keep up. The writers have their finger to pulse of what is really important to people today and throughout all of time... LOVE. It ticks so many boxes for me. I have been waiting for a show that I can safely watch with kids in the room, without soft porn, violence, bad language, and in general inappropriate story lines. This incredible show proves to be not too soppy, funny enough to break tension, loads of character diversity, Mandy Moore, I mean so many more reasons to fall in love with "This Is Us". That is all. Peace out

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful Series

10/10
Author: Sammy from India
27 September 2016

STOP EVERYTHING YOU ARE DOING AND GO WATCH THIS SHOW.

Beautiful, Simple and heart warming, this show is one emotional roller-coaster. I've been awed, shocked and surprised, crying and smiling to myself. Loving it.

One of the best pilots i've seen in a while, giving me the best quote, "There's no lemon so sour that you can't make something resembling lemonade." it's simply amazing. It's very rare to feel amazed and fall in love with the show just by watching it's pilot, this is one of them. Two episodes down so far and it has given two amazing and shocking ends, and i just can't wait how it will turn out.

Trust me, Go watch it and you will not regret it. :)

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Without equal so far this season....

10/10
Author: michaelrthomson from Nz
16 October 2016

All too often one ends up writing a review about a show that is less than amazing, often out of frustration, annoyance or plain old bored at yet another half as*ed attempt to get viewers to tune in with little effort on plot, dialogue or acting.

I'm so pleased to say, this show is the opposite of it all, it is a delight to have found amongst the tedious modern take on entertainment.

The tale is one of life, of seemingly unrelated people who share something in common, well that is the opener, the twist reveals itself blatantly at the end of episode one, and I didn't see it coming, so far episodes 2 and 3 have not delivered quite that surprise, but what they do deliver is excellence in acting, excellence in storytelling, and a compelling narrative and the continued potential for greatness.

The characters are increasingly well developed with main and side stories in abundance, it has so far kept me interested and perhaps most importantly for a show, invested in who these characters are, and the journey they are on.

There is something spine tingly about the show, as others have stated it can be an emotional journey, with moments of humour and moments of laughter and joy.

It is merely 3 episodes in, but I am hoping we continue to explore the stories being told here, that the cast continues to deliver compelling acting and that the script writers take us on a human journey with all the typical highs and lows that involves. I am looking forward to more, much much more.

If you hadn't noticed, I'm impressed by the acting cred of these people, with a couple of exceptions these actors aren't one's I've seen before, but they are doing an awesome job here.

So for a change, i'm so please to commend this show to others, to say it needs to be watched with patience, with curiosity and and open mind and heart.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

A Perfect Family Show!

10/10
Author: rich-8622 from China
30 September 2016

Well I did It!My first review.And i am glad that this is my first review.Because....

After i watched the pilot episode i thought of only one word...PERFECT.The show caught my attention from the very first frame.I really enjoyed all the emotions,love,family...And the second episode topped the first episode by a mile.The way the past explains the present makes up a really satisfying watch in the second episode.

I am eager to know how the stories move forward and i hope that the show maintains the standard that it set forth from the very first episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Watch the pilot! (Not giving away any spoilers here!)

9/10
Author: Matthew Damian Gabriel
23 September 2016

To give away any spoilers to anyone who has not yet seen the first episode would be criminal. The final few minutes of the episode are spectacular, so be sure to watch it in its entirety...and I don't mean, "watch it in the background while you do chores or play with your smartphone," I mean, "watch it without any distractions, and pay attention."

All I want to say is congratulations and thank you to Dan Fogelman ("Crazy Stupid Love," "Tangled," and so many more) for giving us the best new show of the season. Sure, it's a little over-the-top sappy, but it just works. It totally works. The entire cast is a set of talented actors whose characters are extremely likable, whether or not entirely relatable.

"This Is Us" is set as a series recording on my DVR -- I plan on watching every episode, and expect to enjoy each one. This one's a gem.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Short Film Drawn Out Too Far

6/10
Author: GholamSlayer from United States
2 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The pilot was absolutely brilliant. Four characters at pivot points in their life, and it felt satisfyingly concluded by the end of the episode when they all decided to change. Sometimes you don't need to show the complete follow-through. To me, the most important thing happened in the first episode. Everything genuine happened there. It all feels so stretched now. I'll grant that on occasion, a good and genuine moment happens, but they have become few and far between, not even every episode. I'm on the sixth episode, and I think it'll be my final one. I'm straining to care about most of the characters, and the only one I do genuinely care about is William, and I don't think it a stretch to believe he won't live out the season, maybe not even the next few episodes, given how his character was established. I enjoy sappiness, I really do, but I enjoy it only when it can be genuine.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history