This Is Us (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Add a Review
135 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Pleasant Surprise
Harun Karali21 September 2016
I think we can all admit that it's hard to create a show that stands out, As we are at a time where television is at it's pinnacle point. So when I started this show I was expecting a mildly entertaining series. What I got, is, a show that is real. So much so, that it brought tears to my eyes. That should tell you all you need to know about this beautiful tale about life. The story revolves around a few characters that seem to be unrelated. Just like the facts that were stated in the beginning of the show. However they have more in common than you realize. What sets this show apart from most, isn't the ending, But the journey you take in-between. As someone who's seen many new shows this year, both comedy and drama, I can say with absolute certainty, this is the most memorable. Not only because of it's outstanding story telling but because of it's cast, who bring life to the story.
129 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Best Pilot in ages. (Spoilers)
Patrick Splinter21 September 2016
SPOILER ALERT

First I am a hard person to fool. The Village. Figured it out. Many others. The Sixth Sense and Fight club got me and that's why I love them. I love to be taken down a path and then realize everything wasn't as it seems.

When the fireman lit the cigarette I realized it was 1980. But I still didn't get that those three would be raised together until the nursery with the knit onesies. I'm good at this stuff and the acting and characters blew me away that I wasn't looking for it.

Best Pilot ever. IMHO.

Then I thought. Well they can't do that every episode because if you are looking for twists you find them. If I was told there was a twist at the end, I would have figured it out (everyone's birthday on the same day, etc). But the fact one was black and the other two were twins threw me. PLUS the fact one was "Ryan Gosling" body and the other was overweight threw me that they were twins. Both played on stereotypes which I Loved they made us look into ourselves a little.

So where does the show go from here? It has a great premise. Dual time lines. You can do a lot with that. Have stories play out with flashbacks to tell a larger story (ala Lost). The casting was nailed with exceptional talent. I was interested in every character. They even nailed it by casting Simon and Simon vet Gerald McRaney. He was the glue that MADE that story line click. He speech on the chair was Emmy worthy. I hope he is a regular cast member and explore his wife's death and the death of his one child.

I'm hooked for at least season one. No need for twists. The dual time lines and great characters is enough for me. They can bounce all around in the 80s when the "triplets" are 4 or 10 or 15. triple time lines or more. Milo and Mandy can be made to look older and cast kids to play the parts at different ages. So much room to explore. I predict a good 4-7 year run.
87 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Innovative and Surprising
drjgardner28 September 2016
This is a very inventive story line so I won't refer to it, except to say that both the first and second episodes have real surprises. Avoid reading any reviews with spoilers. It will dampen your joy as you figure things out.

The acting is excellent and the script is well written. This looks like a comedy but in fact it has some profoundly dramatic moments. I want to single out some of the actors who were terrific – Milo Ventimiglia (played Rocky Jr), Mandy Moore ("Tangled"), Ron Cephas Jones, Sterling K. Brown (Chris Darden in "OJ") and Susan Kelechi Watson ("Louie"). Gerald McRaney does a cameo in Episode 1 which may be some of his best work ever.

The disadvantage of a TV series like this is that it requires the audience to participate and fill in the gaps. Many people will not understand what's happening, so this is the type of series that is best viewed twice, or however long it takes you to get it.
45 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Loved the first episode !
eddieo196921 September 2016
I don't write many reviews I'm often tempted but don't get round to it. It might be because most of the time when i'm tempted it's because a series or a films is really really bad, so instead I decided to spend my time tying to find something that's good to watch. Now, I have only watched the first episode and normally I would want to watch a few more before making my mind up but I the case of "This is us" I feel compelled to comment on the pilot episode.

I LOVED IT ! It was wonderfully written, cleverly written, well acted with a good cast. I felt for the main character, they werre interesting and I want to know what happens to them. I was going to go into details about the main characters but I don't wont to spoil anything for you, all I will say is watch the pilot episode I will add that this is not the type of programme I tend to watch "family's struggling in the modern world" the "ups and downs of life" but after one episode I cant recommend this series enough I just hope it continues in the same manner.
57 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Without equal so far this season....
michaelrthomson16 October 2016
All too often one ends up writing a review about a show that is less than amazing, often out of frustration, annoyance or plain old bored at yet another half as*ed attempt to get viewers to tune in with little effort on plot, dialogue or acting.

I'm so pleased to say, this show is the opposite of it all, it is a delight to have found amongst the tedious modern take on entertainment.

The tale is one of life, of seemingly unrelated people who share something in common, well that is the opener, the twist reveals itself blatantly at the end of episode one, and I didn't see it coming, so far episodes 2 and 3 have not delivered quite that surprise, but what they do deliver is excellence in acting, excellence in storytelling, and a compelling narrative and the continued potential for greatness.

The characters are increasingly well developed with main and side stories in abundance, it has so far kept me interested and perhaps most importantly for a show, invested in who these characters are, and the journey they are on.

There is something spine tingly about the show, as others have stated it can be an emotional journey, with moments of humour and moments of laughter and joy.

It is merely 3 episodes in, but I am hoping we continue to explore the stories being told here, that the cast continues to deliver compelling acting and that the script writers take us on a human journey with all the typical highs and lows that involves. I am looking forward to more, much much more.

If you hadn't noticed, I'm impressed by the acting cred of these people, with a couple of exceptions these actors aren't one's I've seen before, but they are doing an awesome job here.

So for a change, i'm so please to commend this show to others, to say it needs to be watched with patience, with curiosity and and open mind and heart.
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing Drama
Leah Martin2 October 2016
Wow, what a come back for TV Drama. This is a multi layered, moving and totally relate-able show and so so entertaining. I am already so invested and have only watched two episodes. The leading cast are amazing with some of my all time favorites (looking at you Milo) and supporting cast seem more than adequate to keep up. The writers have their finger to pulse of what is really important to people today and throughout all of time... LOVE. It ticks so many boxes for me. I have been waiting for a show that I can safely watch with kids in the room, without soft porn, violence, bad language, and in general inappropriate story lines. This incredible show proves to be not too soppy, funny enough to break tension, loads of character diversity, Mandy Moore, I mean so many more reasons to fall in love with "This Is Us". That is all. Peace out
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Beautiful Series
Sammy27 September 2016
STOP EVERYTHING YOU ARE DOING AND GO WATCH THIS SHOW.

Beautiful, Simple and heart warming, this show is one emotional roller-coaster. I've been awed, shocked and surprised, crying and smiling to myself. Loving it.

One of the best pilots i've seen in a while, giving me the best quote, "There's no lemon so sour that you can't make something resembling lemonade." it's simply amazing. It's very rare to feel amazed and fall in love with the show just by watching it's pilot, this is one of them. Two episodes down so far and it has given two amazing and shocking ends, and i just can't wait how it will turn out.

Trust me, Go watch it and you will not regret it. :)
48 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Perfect Family Show!
rich-862230 September 2016
Well I did It!My first review.And i am glad that this is my first review.Because....

After i watched the pilot episode i thought of only one word...PERFECT.The show caught my attention from the very first frame.I really enjoyed all the emotions,love,family...And the second episode topped the first episode by a mile.The way the past explains the present makes up a really satisfying watch in the second episode.

I am eager to know how the stories move forward and i hope that the show maintains the standard that it set forth from the very first episode.
36 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Watch the pilot! (Not giving away any spoilers here!)
Matthew Damian Gabriel23 September 2016
To give away any spoilers to anyone who has not yet seen the first episode would be criminal. The final few minutes of the episode are spectacular, so be sure to watch it in its entirety...and I don't mean, "watch it in the background while you do chores or play with your smartphone," I mean, "watch it without any distractions, and pay attention."

All I want to say is congratulations and thank you to Dan Fogelman ("Crazy Stupid Love," "Tangled," and so many more) for giving us the best new show of the season. Sure, it's a little over-the-top sappy, but it just works. It totally works. The entire cast is a set of talented actors whose characters are extremely likable, whether or not entirely relatable.

"This Is Us" is set as a series recording on my DVR -- I plan on watching every episode, and expect to enjoy each one. This one's a gem.
28 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best TV show with the most spiritual message ever!
tomparisnyc27 October 2016
This is us is not just the best TV show in a very long time, it is also the most heartfelt with such a beautiful spiritual message. The message is that of LOVE, and that we are all in this together, meaning life.

The acting, the writing, the characters and its message are beyond beautiful. It is 100% top quality Television and I can't wait for more of this incredible TV event.

It all starts with Rebecca and Jack in the 70s or early 80s, and gets flashbacks to them in each episode so we can see how it all unfolded to the lives of their three children, one of them a black orphan, Randall (played beautifully by Sterling K.Brown). His biological father William is also casted amazingly by Ron Cephas Jones.

But my favorite 'This Is Us' couple are Kate and Toby, played in a way by Chrissy Metz and Chris Sullivan, that makes you step back and wonder why we have such judgment and disrespect over obese people. Their acting and interactions are by far the best I have ever seen on TV. Their love for each other is over the top and the both deserve Emmy's for their performances.

THIS IS US is the best TV show in the last ten years!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews