IMDb > Despicable Me 3 (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Despicable Me 3
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Despicable Me 3 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 116 reviews in total 

44 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

I can't tell if these movies are getting worse, or if my tolerance is just waning

3/10
Author: Matt Greene from Panama City, Florida, United States
10 July 2017

Either way, they're all too innocuous to truly hate. Lowest common denominator in every way: tons of lame jokes, forceful heartfelt moments that aren't earned, and random acts of cuteness. Carell deserves so much better than just being given a tired, silly accent like the worst of Mike Myers.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

It's not terrible by any means but the series is starting to fade.

6/10
Author: ofpsmith from United States
12 July 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's a common curse with the third movie in most trilogies (assuming we don't count Minions.) The third movie is usually where it starts to wear off. Such is the case for Despicable Me 3. The movie is average. That's it. It's not great, it's not bad, it's just average. The story is that Balthazar Bratt (Trey Parker), former 80s child actor turned super villain has eluded capture from Gru (Steve Carell) and Lucy Wilde (Kristen Wiig) for too long, and the new chief of the Anti Villain League isn't happy about it and fires them. Eager to get their jobs back Gru receives word that he has a long lost twin brother named Dru (Carell also) who invites him to his home in a country known as Freedonia (the same country that Groucho Marx ran in Duck Soup). Dru attempts to get Gru back into villainy. Gru manages to resist the urge for a whole 5 minutes. The master plan is to now steal a diamond from Bratt and hopefully be readmitted to the Anti Villain League. Along the way we have numerous sub plots involving Lucy trying to be a good mom, the Minions fed up with lack of crime and going to jail (it's never specified how that happens), Agnes (Nev Scharrel) wanting to find a unicorn after hearing a legend, Bratt wanting to destroy Hollywood in revenge for rejecting him as a teenager, and the relationship between Gru and Dru. In all honesty I think there's more plots than The Dark Knight Rises. This is really the biggest problem. A Despicable Me movie really doesn't need this many plot threads. Most of the time the movie just jumps around to each one and it comes off as being unfocused. Kids will probable be fine with it and it is enjoyable enough, but I don't think it's as good as the other three.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Boring

4/10
Author: Sjalka Rjadottir from IS
17 September 2017

I do reckon that at 31 years - i am not the target audience of this movie. There are of course movies that address both, children and adults alike - but this is not one of those.

The plot was ... pretty stupid. Not stupid in a comedic way - but stupid in a "that makes no sense" way. There was no notable character progression, the minions were a snooze and the newly introduced characters made no sense. Shedding light on Grus past might have been interesting, especially since there was the scene of a young Gru in the minions movie - but instead we got a kind of family reunion with little to no impact at all. So they just got to know each other - and they like each other .. well, good. Thats it.

The villain - the most important part of such a movie - was rather weak, too for my taste. Memorable in design and behaviour, but rather weak in terms of motivation and threat. (considering Gru had to deal with a genius villain that was trying to steal the moon in the first movie ... the villain in the 3rd was just a substantial step down)

Jokes fell mostly flat - but there weren't many for an adult audience.

I d say - a nice movie for kids, but in contrast to some of the classic pixar movies ... not for adults.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

They need to stop making bucks off of these movies

3/10
Author: pinkarray
11 July 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The first Despicable Me I really enjoyed, the second one was okay but not that great, the Minions one was mediocre, and this third one is iffy. Despicable Me has also had shorts and I saw a few of them like the House Makeover one, the Training Wheels one, and the one that played before Secret Life of Pets. The Training Wheels one was okay, the House Makeover one was pretty good, but the one that played before Secret Life of Pets was sub-par.

I think that they need to stop milking this franchise because Despicable Me is just getting worse and worse with each movie and short and from the cliffhanger in the end, I could tell that there's probably going to be a fourth one about Dru's career as a villain. And what's going to happen? Dru and maybe even Gru are going to meet their dad who they haven't seen in a long time and maybe bring him into the family? Are the girls going to find out that their biological parents abandoned them and leave Gru to live with their parents? And what if they make a T.V. series?

None of the characters I thought were very good and are shadows of their former selves. The new characters, Evil Bratt is obvious and Dru is an unnecessary character, he caused trouble for Gru and doesn't even know how to drive yet he has a car. Lucy is annoying with how aggressive and hyper she acts and an unnecessary mom and teammate of Gru and she and Gru are burdening a 6-year-old little girl with stuff about work. Which I think is too much for a 6 year old to comprehend. Not to mention, the kids act too precocious now. Like how could a 6-year-old girl know how to cook soup? She also sold her unicorn, well, Despicable Me is dead now. Isn't she too young to be even thinking about businesses anyway? And she adopts a goat? Why would she adopt a wild animal? And the minions are now more annoying trouble-makers than ever.

There are too many popular songs in there. But I really loved the end credits song. This movie is kind of like a rehash of Despicable Me 1, 2, and Minions. A villain causes destruction to the town towards the end, the girls get kidnapped by the villain, and a boy falls in love with Margo and even talks about getting engaged with her even though they're too young. And he also does embarrassing things such as smooching all over her.

Edith's voice actor sounded a bit too old for her age.

There are a few good things to say about this film, the action scenes are alright, there were some heart-warming moments between Gru and Dru and I like how they help each other, and I also like how they got three different stories going on, one about Lucy and the girls, one about the Minions, and one about Gru and Dru being spies. Agnes's new voice actor did pretty good on her character and I think she sounds kind of like Elsie Fischer, but I still miss Elsie Fischer's sweet, babyish voice but she no longer has that voice.

This movie was clichéd, silly, cartoonish, predictable, slow, and therefore boring. I barely laughed at even one part, the humor was lowbrow and the dialogue foolish. And I can probably guess what the fourth one is going to be about and that there may be a fifth one.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Feels More Like a Sitcom Than a Movie

7/10
Author: bkrauser-81-311064 from United States
9 July 2017

As far as disposable sequels to kids films, Despicable Me 3 is pretty much on par with Cars 3 (2017). It's not a particularly memorable film nor can it really hold its own against something like The LEGO Batman Movie (2017) but at least it's not unpleasant. In-fact in may ways Despicable Me 3 is better than the original in that it improves its look-and-feel and provides a decent foil for once in the form of Trey Parker's Balthazar Bratt. Of course it's to the detriment of neutering the refreshing mean-spirited-ness of the original, but hey, at least you still got those Minions am I right? Despicable Me 3 catches Gru (Carell) and newly minted wife Lucy (Wiig) trying and failing to secure the world's largest diamond from the hands of Bratt our flamboyant 80's themed villain. Fired by the new head of the Anti-Villain League (Slate), Gru and Lucy discover he has a twin brother named Dru (also Carell) whom their parents separated at birth. With nothing on their plate, Gru, Lucy and the girls (Cosgrove, Gaier and Scharrel), travel to the Mediterranean coasts of Freedonia to meet Dru.

When the family lands in Freedonia, the movie descends into a series of fun but thematically incongruous vignettes. Gru bonds with his brother over Dru's desire to become a villain, Lucy fails, succeeds and fails again to become a mother figure to the three girls, Agnes, the youngest of the three tries to capture a unicorn, Balthazar Bratt sees his plans for world domination come to near-fruition and the Minions...well let's just say they have their own thing going as well.

About half of all this busy, busy, business works at least as far as furthering the plot. The fact that none of the film's insanity really coalesces into a compelling whole, only makes the film feel more like a mediocre sitcom episode than an actual movie. Yet as far as inspired moments of slapstick, Despicable Me 3 supplies a little bit more than is to be expected. One highlight involves Gru and Dru driving around the Freedonian countryside in a golden-plated mean machine while police follow while riding literal pigs. Parents will find these comedic bits more amusing than funny but the kids, the kids will be rolling up and down the aisles.

And isn't that what this movie is ultimately about? To provide entertainment to children? While I don't necessarily condone families watching kid's films for their own sake (and this one in particular is all over the map as far as messaging), there's not really all that much to object about here. Despicable Me 3 is at its core a thoughtless but entertaining jumble of sights, sounds and goofiness. Thankfully unlike your racist aunt, Illumination Entertainment has not used the Minions for nefarious purposes...at least not yet.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Not nearly as good as the first two, but kind of fun

7/10
Author: Mark Long from Phoenix
22 July 2017

I thought Despicable Me 1 and 2 were great fun, movies that you could watch over and over every few months or so and still laugh. Despicable Me 3 I hardly laughed at all, and can't see myself watching it again anytime soon. That's not to say it wasn't fun. The Minions were kind of funny as usual but the overall plot and script wasn't as witty and charming. Mr. Gru is not really a good guy or villain in this one. The interaction between him and his new found brother provided a few laughs. His new wife tries hard in her new role as mother to Gru's kids, maybe that could have been played up more. I've heard another reviewer say this was an unnecessary sequel, and that's hard to disagree with.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

This is not what I expected...Nor what you expect..

4/10
Author: Mohamed Hesham from Egypt
24 July 2017

I just wanted to have some fun and a good movie like the first one.. It keeps getting worse every part.. I thought that this part will make up for the other one and the minions disaster.. Yet , No No I did not like it at all. I Really liked the bad guy with his style and dancing all around.. But at the end of the day it was boring.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Save Yourselves

2/10
Author: Max Ells
4 July 2017

Despicable Me 3

This movie was weighed down by a lot of problems, but before I get to that I will say that I did not hate this film by any means, it's just not very good.

Problems:

1. The whole "brother" concept is good, but it shouldn't have been set up in this movie. It should have been set up in the first one, or the end of the second at the latest.

2. This problem I refer to as "the politics of film," because the studio did not acknowledge that they are going to far with this series. The minions stole the show in the first one, however the studio kept pushing it on audiences by over-commercializing them. They somehow became the face of Illumination Studios, and they somehow managed to get their own unnecessary origin story movie. Universal should've stopped while they were ahead with the first Despicable Me.

3. I do not like it when a series will reuse jokes, in this case the "unicorn being so fluffy I'm going to die." It was funny in the first one, but in this one it felt forced.

4. The villain, Balthazar Bratt, felt way too underdeveloped. He got about four minutes of an origin, which resulted in vague motivations and just another generic, one-off villain.

Overall: Save yourself from this mess

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Very disappointing

2/10
Author: evarehm-14257 from Germany
10 July 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm a big fan but this movie was totally uninspired and lacks the charm and anarchistic humor of its predecessors completely. The story is confused, several plot lines (like Ramsbottom, Dr. Nefario) remain open or are illogical and sketchy (like the Minions' jail episode). I just hope that the crew will regain its old performance, and that the Minions will be back - YELLOW, please!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

What happened?

3/10
Author: GoUSN from United States
6 July 2017

The previous installments nicely balanced the over-the-top tricks with the plot, and somehow it was plausible in an imaginary sort of way.

But this one? It's as if the writers had the plot then later realized they needed the tricks, and in they went, one by one, arbitrarily, with no real imagination or thought. You can hear the director saying, "ok, insert a trick here, then there, and there, then there." With a 90-minute run-time, there were actually five stories going on: the brothers, the unicorn search, the minions' imprisonment, the engagement segment (involving the oldest child, age 12!), and the Brat. Two are eventually irrelevant and unresolved, while the other three meet in the end, but in a forced "we have to write it this way or the movie has no ending" sort of way.

The premise was interesting - long-lost twin brother wants to resuscitate the family tradition of villainy vs. Gru's new home-bound stability. But the execution was just mediocre, if that. Light laughs, an LOL or two, but that's it.

The minions stole the show.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 12:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history