IMDb > "Rick and Morty" (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Rick and Morty"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Rick and Morty" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 176 reviews in total 

258 out of 288 people found the following review useful:

Easily the best show I've seen in a while

10/10
Author: Tommy Abraham
22 January 2014

This show is honestly great. It is easily the best animation show I have seen in a while on any network. The second the show starts you can tell that the characters fit perfectly with each other, and involved with the craziness that happens in the universe with Rick and Morty, they are immediately hilarious and extremely creative at the same time. A couple episodes in and I could tell that this was a unique show, and that people need to be watching it because it has huge potential. And with Dan Harmon writing and directing at the helm of it all, the magic that this show brings is a rare gem in television that people need to watch.. So yeah I highly suggest this show to anyone who wants a true genuine laugh at least once a week.

Was the above review useful to you?

192 out of 222 people found the following review useful:

Just as TV started to go downhill...

10/10
Author: sweetcommando from New Zealand
26 March 2014

Let me just say that I was very skeptical about this show. Judging from the sneak peaks and previews, I assumed this was going to be just another family guy/ Brikleberry lazily animated show with some cheap and low standards. Well gee wizz, I was very very wrong! Rick and Morty might seem like some stupid knock off of Back to the Future or some money laundering scheme as part of late night cable TV, but its not. Behind all the jokes, each episode surprisingly has a strong message and whether you can relate to it or not, you won't really feel like the end of each episode was a bummer.

The weakest aspect is the animation. Its not pretty and seems out dated. Despite this, its hard to say that this pulls the show down. No, not even one bit. The absolutely clever writing and well designed character personalities are basically what this show floats upon.

Unlike many other cartoons that have a sub plot in every episode, the ones in this show are actually relevant and memorable. They aren't just there as fillers and they are nearly as important as the main story. In fact, in most episodes its hard to tell which one is the sub plot and which one is the main plot.

What I'm trying to say is that this show is near perfect. What are you still doing watching new Simpsons and Family guy, go watch this show if you haven't already. Its a great example of how TV hasn't turned to total crap.

Was the above review useful to you?

157 out of 178 people found the following review useful:

A genius mix of emotion, comedy and sci-fi!

10/10
Author: theong32
24 December 2013

Rick and Morty is a hilarious new show by the genius behind Community seasons 1-3 and 5, Dan Harmon. The episodes so far have always seemed fresh and the writing is hilarious and creative. But then there's no surprise really since its co-creator created Community.

The hilarious mixture of wittiness, slapstick and action all add to making this show one of the best cartoons I have ever seen.

From what I've seen so far, the show easily parodies different movies and topics, also slyly sneaking in references (sometimes not slyly).

The art also is simple, but very appealing. Because the show is animated, Dan Harmon, Justin Roiland and the writers have been able to break free from the chains of live action, making the show more out of this world.

I highly recommend this show to anyone, especially fans of the Regular Show, Adventure Time and Community.

Was the above review useful to you?

158 out of 185 people found the following review useful:

Original and Hand Drawn.

9/10
Author: Jake O'Brien from United States
11 December 2013

Heads Up: This review is based on the first few episodes of Season 1 only. I was really looking forward to Rick and Morty based on the hilarious teaser and the fact that this is a hand drawn show like older, more classic cartoons. My concern was that it would end up with a weak, poorly written script. That is not the case whatsoever. This show is incredibly original with its writing, characters, style and imagination. Every episode AND joke is completely different from the last, which keeps this show fresh and exciting to watch. While I think Rick (the grandpa) is the funniest, No character is bad. Morty, his dog Snuffles, and even Morty's math teacher all pack in great jokes. The directing is great and the art style and the way it is drawn is really really good. The only problem I have with the show, is that I don't really think they know how to end each episode (so far at least). But, this is truly a breath of fresh air when it comes to comedy, and I think adultswim has a really good show on their hands... 9/10

Was the above review useful to you?

137 out of 155 people found the following review useful:

Very solidly constructed television.

10/10
Author: Les Cargill from United States
1 February 2014

This is an extremely solid show. It is *dark*, but there are certainly moments that approach the limits of any sort of television style format.

The ending of "Rick Potion #9" is just amazing. Likewise, the end of "M. Night Shaym Aliens".

The strength of the show is just how amoral Rick may be; but there is a strong attachment to the "many universes" hypothesis within the show. Philosophers have long debated the moral implications of "many universes" ( while realizing it's a bit sophomoric and nerdy ) ; "Rick and Morty" picks at this as its stock in trade. Morty is our avatar, and works in that capacity extremely well.

The essential dyad at the center - the title characters - interact little with the more peripheral characters, who have mainly been used in B plots. This shifts of course, and with these sorts of shows they will always mix this for plot gain. There's a rich enough set of characters to provide ample space. The interaction between Rick and Morty hoists a bit from classic propaganda tropes without actually being propagandist; a heck of a trick. It must be hard to calibrate this.

The entire show is just chock full of nuggets and neither preaches nor deigns to condescend to the audience. Pacing is always even and feels right. The writers know where to push and where not to.

We will see how long this can be maintained. The writers show a gift for twisting & adding-to old plots into new shows. Hopefully that's a stable arrangement.

As an "agent of Chaos", Rick should serve us for many years. There are actual ideas underneath all the humor, and here's to them. This might well be the best thing on television right now.

Was the above review useful to you?

150 out of 195 people found the following review useful:

Best New Animation Ever!

10/10
Author: palebluedotresident from Summit County, Colorado
22 January 2014

Awesome!!!! Just plain fantastic! Just what we've been waiting for! At a loss for words!! Thank You God! It's about time that writers have opened up to ideas from a new realm! This is it! No hold bars, out of this world, other dimensions, straight in your face! Brilliant! I can't wait to see more! I have to see more! There better be more; it would be pretty ugly, otherwise! Hawt-dam! Yee-Freaking-Haa! Sit down, strap in, hold on and be amazed! Super clever, great story lines, great visuals, smooth, exciting, thought provoking works of art; absolute masterpieces! I applaud the writers and commend them for their brilliance and am so excited this is happening! Rick and Morty FOREVER!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

117 out of 142 people found the following review useful:

The Best New Adult Animated Series Around

9/10
Author: agostinho-pinto90 from OK, United States
23 December 2013

I just finished watching the first three episodes and feel instantly hooked. I have the same feeling I had when I watched Family Guy for the first time, in which I felt like every single character was interesting and was contributing for the series in their own ways. In this show, things that will make you laugh are dark and awkward at times which succeed every time. I haven't found a single bad moment so far in the first three episodes and can't wait to watch the whole thing

The first episode was awesome and got me straight to the next. The dog world domination episode is going to be a classic, go watch it. People will remember that episode.

Was the above review useful to you?

102 out of 126 people found the following review useful:

This show is excellent

10/10
Author: Byron Hakeem from Boston Ma.
24 March 2014

I absolutely love this show... Reminds me of the chemistry of Doc and Marty Mcfly from the Back to the Future series with a rated R twist. Slowly but surely the are tweaking character development. Getting better every new episode!!! I like the way Rick is always drinking and burping and slurring his speech. This show is getting a lot of acclaim with so few episodes and it deserves every bit. Honestly this is the best cartoons aimed at young adults and teens that I've seen in a years. I always get excited when I see a new episode trailer!!! Can't wait to see what direction they take this to in the future. They have set it up for literally limitless possibilities.

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 110 people found the following review useful:

Best new cartoon show 2013!

9/10
Author: shifeili from Austria
2 February 2014

The show feels fidgety in the beginning. At first it makes you take a second to get used and into it. But it's as intelligent and hilarious a show as I haven't seen one since a long time! That's what I and hopeful many other viewers are going to realize after a couple of minutes. It'S one of those shows that wouldn't happen to be without Adult Swim. Not exactly a family show. Anyways - this show is brilliant. The humor is not as cheap as in most of the successful cartoons and the show is not as comfortable to watch, but that's one thing that makes it so hilarious. It's really dark sometimes, and the viewer with a good sense of humor will appreciate that. The only thing that might make the show a bit better is that the creators could make the characters a bit better known and thus more likable to the viewer. Like this a plot as in episode 6 (SE1) would work even better. Well, the characters maybe a bit flat still, but the plots and happenings are making all this acceptable. Amazingly funny and thoughtful story line for a 20min cartoon show. The sad part is, that it might not really be for the rank and file and as a result might not last for too long or even be recognized by too many people. I really hope this goes on for a while, though! I love this show - it's great. Keep up the good work

PS.: I hope they take one or two scientists on board to help them with Grandpa Rick to keep him on track regarding scientific accuracy. But that'S just a personnel tic of mine...

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Hilarious, smart, fresh, original and unexpectedly emotionally resonant

10/10
Author: Tom Siebert from SoCal
17 November 2014

There were only 11 episodes in the first season, so it seems a little premature and overenthusiastic to call this the funniest and best show on television, but I'm tossing it out there anyway.

Too much of the Adult Swim programming is mean-spirited and ugly, but "Rick & Morty" balances its cynicism with moments of genuine familial and societal warmth. The characters are well-developed and evolve over the course of the season, and the voice talent is gifted -- Chris Parnell is the secret weapon as Morty's not-too-bright dad.

The Pilot is the only episode I was Luke-warm on, because it's the only one where the nastiness overwhelms everything else, but it fits well into the course of the entire season because it gives the bitter alcoholic grandfather Rick something to grow away from, and the first year gets better and better as it rolls along.

There isn't a lot of TV I can watch with my son, but this is just about the best of it. Can't wait for season 2, and I hope there will be more than 11 episodes.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history