Justice League (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
1,230 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
2/10
A better video game then movie
Luna-tic28 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Believe me I wanted to love this movie. I grew up on the Justice League. I love the Justice League. This movie was exactly how I would not do it. Let me begin my review.

CGI – I also love CGI. I think we've made some great movie magic with CGI. Here the CGI was so distractingly bad I could not stop wondering how could they do such a bad job with such a huge budget? Let me start with the bad guy – Steppenwolf. The Character looked like it was lifted right out of a video game. He did not look real at all. Honestly this movie looked like they took the Human Actors (plus half and half Superman – I'll get to that) and plopped them right into a video game. It looked like these actors all stood in a sound stage and punch and kicked and jumped. The CGI was so bad the movie lost all sense of realism. It did not help that the directors of this movie has no idea how to put more than 2 characters in a fight scene at any time. Again this took away from the realism also – how do our super heroes fight the alien villains in the middle of a city and not one bystander is in any of the scenes. The world is being destroyed but no one is watching or no one tries running away. Its funny because at one point in the middle of a big fight scene Lois Lane just shows up but no one else including Police or Military does. I sat there in total shock thinking how could some one make such garbage fake scenes. But the most laughable part of the CGI has to do with Superman. I sat there looking at him the whole movie thinking what is wrong with him, he looks off. So afterwards I read that Henry Cavill was filming another movie at the same time as this and in that other movie he was required to have a mustache and beard. So they filmed all his scenes with a beard and CGI'd them out. And it was a terrible job of CGIing the beard out. His face looked off and at points I wondered if it was even Henry playing Superman or a look alike. It was bad and for a movie this BIG it should have been so much better.

As for the other Heroes here are my thoughts, but first let me comment on something that bothers a lot of Justice League fans, why did they take all the color and make these movies so dark. This is a big factor on why Marvel makes much better movies than DC. Look at the costume of Batman (all black), Wonder Women/Aquaman/Superman colors dimmed to the point of their outfits are basically black also. Flash looked OK.

Batman – Ben Affleck seems to be sleep walking through this movie. He is boring boring boring. Enough said about him.

Aquaman – was Aquaman even in this movie? I recall Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Flash, and some cyborg guy, but was Aquaman in this movie? Cuz there was some dude that says Bro and Bruh with long hair and a bunch of tattoos. Jason Momoa was not Aquaman. Not only in persona/appearance, but Aquaman did not use his Aqua skills the entire movie. It was like the director has no idea how to pull this off. He was in the water at the beginning a little when he wasn't drinking his big beer and acting all tough like a pirate/surfer at some pub. But not once did Aquaman used his Aqua skills in this movie. In fact, both of the Justice League fight scenes there was no water around. I am not sure what was worse the CGI or Aquaman.

Flash – I hear some liked him but I could help wondering was Woody Allen not available at the time of filming? Because the guy who played Flash was trying to be Woody Allen the whole movie. Flash was supposedly the funny one – either him or Aquaman, but neither made me laugh once.

Cyborg – Actually Cybrog made me laugh when Steppenwolf pulled off his arms and legs. I laughed out loud at that one. Actually I never knew who cyborg was but from watching this movie he was a fish out of water just like Aquaman. Cyborg apparently deals with Cyber-crimes. Only problem Steppenwolf is from the past and doesn't use computers so Cyborg was useless.

Wonder Woman – The best thing about this movie. No complaints here other than her black Wonder Woman outfit.

Superman – touched on him earlier. I like Henry Cavill and like his Superman portrayal. He wasn't the best here as he wasn't give much to do. He had a couple heart felt scenes (with Lois and his Mom) and CGI withstanding he looks OK for Superman although he looked small in this one.

As for the plot, bad guy from the past wants to destroy the world. Typical but not executed very well.

After seeing this movie I could not help but wish they would blow this whole thing up and start over. They hint of the next movie and I just thought – too bad. DC needs to look at what Marvel is doing and copy, please copy. I also saw Thor's movie and that movie was 1000 times better. Take my advice and see Thor instead. A bad movie like this does not deserve to make the kind of movie it is making.
44 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Just okay
luan-penna16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I grew up watching the Justice League animated series and I enjoyed every DCEU movie so far, so I was really excited to finally see these heroes together for the first time on the big screen. Unfortunately, the movie was a letdown. It's not bad by any means, but it was not as epic as it should have been. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:

+ The acting is really good

+ Great chemistry between the League

+ Some good action scenes (Amazons vs Steppenwolf is one the best moments of the movie), even though the movie lacks any memorable action like the ones in Man of Steel, BvS or Wonder Woman

+ Superman is finally done right

+ There are some fun scenes

+ The Flash is great and you can't ignore Wonder Woman every time she's on screen. Aquaman and Cyborg were fine. Batman was fine as well (Ben Affleck didn't look very interested in this movie as he was in BvS)

+ The post credit scenes are great

Cons:

  • The plot is weak (bad guy wants to destroy the world, just like The Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Man of Steel, Suicide Squad, X-Men: Apocalypse, etc). You can tell how it all ends, everything is very predictable


  • The villain is really awful. I didn't fear him for a second


  • Not a lot of surprises


  • The VFX is a letdown compared to Man of Steel and BvS (Superman's erased mustache is really distracting)


  • Very little character development


  • You can tell basically all the scenes added in reshoots


  • The jokes didn't work. Most of them are silly, not funny


  • Gal Gadot's acting is not very good in some scenes. It looks like she is as good as her directors. With Patty Jenkins (Wonder Woman's director), she was great. Here with Zack Snyder/Joss Whedon, not so much


  • Some of the dialogues are really bad (like the ones with Mera and Aquaman). Half of them are pure exposition


  • The movie lacks stakes or any sense of danger


  • The final battle is really generic


  • The movie is never really exciting. It's almost exciting, but never really really exciting.


It's not a bad movie, but it's not great either. Unfortunately Justice League is just okay. You won't remember it in a year. I didn't love the movie, but based on the last post credit scene, I'm excited for where this universe can go next.
397 out of 549 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
This series is so easy to get right and they keep doing all the wrong things.
Nevermore33320 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If you are going to create a cinematic universe, why not start with solo movies? This movie and BVS are the product of a studio with no patience.

SPOILERS!

1) Terrible Character Development:

This studio gave us no backstory to Wonder Woman and Batman when BvS arrived in theaters, so it flopped. Once again we get no backstory to Aquaman, Cyborg, or Flash. Even Batman hasn't had a solo movie in this DC universe. How do you decide to reboot Batman and you don't even have a solo movie for its central character?! We see this same problem with Suicide Squad. Rushed ensembles with no true backstories and character development.

2) Flashbacks to Mortal Kombat Annihilation:

The scene in Atlantis with Aquaman and Mera was cringe x10. The CGI was abysmal and the dialogue exchange between them was even worse. Luckily, James Wan is directing the solo movie (a good director), so there is still hope. I get the feeling that any solo movie will be great, just as long as Zack Snyder has nothing to do with it.

Wonder Woman was a great solo movie, then she is thrown into this embarrassment of a movie and her acting becomes flat and unemotional. I blame the director. Ben Affleck just looked so bored throughout the movie.

Cyborg's CGI was stuck in the beta phase. It was so bad. Even 1980's Robocop looked better than this.

3) One Mother Box to Rule Them All

The plot was a literal rip off of Lord of The Rings. One box is given to the Atlantians, another to the Amazons, and the final box is given to man. And man must bury the box at an undisclosed location so that they don't become corrupted. In the movie, modern science has no idea how the box is even supposed to work, so I am not sure how a medieval peasant would figure it out. I'm not even sure in what way they would become corrupted since a single box is completely useless.

Steppenwolf looks like Sauron and he must gather the boxes to unlock their power.

What an incredibly lazy plot.

4) Your hero is only as great as its villain

How do you top fighting a colorless CGI monster with no important backstory or presence in BvS? You get the heroes to fight another colorless CGI monster with no important backstory or presence!

There's nothing cerebral or cunning about Steppenwolf. Just a big guy that likes smashing things with a giant hammer. In the comics, he looks human. Why couldn't they at least have a person instead of a CGI monster?

I'm just going to watch the solo movies from now on. I feel like Justice League 2 will add on more heroes with zero backstories, to fight another colorless giant CGI monster with zero backstory and simplistic motivations.
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Dull
daftdwarf16 November 2017
Justice League felt like going through a list of specifications with no identity whatsoever. It's not a bad movie per se, it's just extremely dull. Of course there's nothing new in the photo department but that's to be expected, it's kind of an identity for the whole DCEU. I don't like it but hey, that's an artistic choice I won't criticize here, at least it's coherent. But some flaws are more crippling than that.

Every single characterization was a bit off and some of them felt like they were forced, especially Barry Allen. Still, the actors do the best they can with the material so it's not unbearable.

Every situation (and even the chain of events) is so predictable (cliché even) that it gets you out of the movie. This level of "nothing new" is damaging to the story as it stops you from caring about anything. And it seems like the producers knew this cause they threw in the mandatory helpless family so that you could sense the danger a bit more. After all, it's just the end of the world, how could you care if there was no kid in immediate danger ? Oh wait... Still, even that falls flat as their scenes (and they're not the only ones) are filled with incoherent behaviors that were put there just so that the plot can go forward.

I attended a screening where the only bursts of joy (or emotions at all) occurred when a new character appeared. Kind of a "fanboy effect" that fills you with hope at the sight of one of your beloved comics characters. But the rest of the time, everyone was quite bored and numerous sighs were heard. In a sense, it reassured me as I understood I was not the only one who was disappointed in the movie.

*****The following paragraph might contain a minor SPOILER (depending on what you consider a spoiler)*****

Plus, something else bothered me. But I know everyone won't agree on this one cause it's kind of a speculation. All the points above still stand even if I'm wrong about it. So here it is : Justice League felt like it was a failed attempt to adapt the Avengers in the DCEU. And I'm not talking about the strangely similar theme. Nor am I referring to the tension inside the team before they reconcile that felt like a watered-down version of what we saw in the 2012 movie by Whedon. But the characters are bent so that they match their Marvel counterparts. The Flash takes the place of the slightly weaker and wisecracking Hawkeye, Aquaman clearly corresponds to Thor with his royal and out-of-place persona, Wonder Woman goes through the same soldier- leader dilemma as Cap did and even Batman is slightly changed so that he's closer to Tony Stark (making decisions that make absolutely no sense for the world's best detective that we all know and love). That's a shame cause DC characters are interesting and have a lot more to offer than a mere copy.

*****END OF POSSIBLE SPOILER*****

As of 11/16/2017, this movie has an 8.1 score here on IMDb. Now I'm not a hater and won't say it's the worst movie in history but more than 8 ? Seriously ? It barely does the job so it's a 5 out of 10 for me.
115 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Another flop in an already dead series
hawkerjacob30 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Zack Snyder's "Justice League" is nothing more than another poorly made movie in a franchise that's practically been dead since its second film. While not as horrible, "Justice League" still is not good. The most redeeming factor of the film is some of its characters, but that isn't enough to pull this series out of the hole its in. On the plus side, Gal Gadot's Wonder Woman still shines, even after her wonderfully made standalone film, and may be the best character in the film. Jason Mamoa's Aquaman is a lot of fun, with great humor to go alongside him. Ray Fisher's Cyborg is also an interesting and fun character, being equally as good as Momoa, maybe even slightly better. Unfortunately, Ezra Miller's Flash does not blend with the darkness of every other character, some saying that is the point, but he is almost too far gone to blend in any way. Then, Affleck's Batman is a dry, dull, ill-humored, useless character, and Henry Cavill still broods too much to be fun, and is a somewhat useless addition. The villain of the film is nonthreatening, boring, and plot less, and could be the worst part of the entire film, next to the cliché and boring plot that has been seen in every Avenger's movie to this day, and believe me, I hate having to make that comparison. "Justice League is moderately fun, but still can't redeem this helpless series.
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Never thought i'd like BVS more than this, but i do.
Jayden Carlson16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
In short:

>Many instances where the CGI and green screens are painfully obvious and stick out like a sore thumb.

>The editing is extremely rushed and abrupt in parts, with super important events such as Steppenwolf stealing the 3rd mother box being mentioned in cringey and obvious exposition by wonder woman, before cutting to a random event halfway around the world.

>The fight scenes in this film are extraordinarily underwhelming. In almost all the fights, barely any of the characters use their powers, with aqua man simply punching and getting thrown away, wonder woman using her sword instead of her OP abilities shown in her standalone movie, and cyborg literally doing nothing except putting his hands inside a glowing box. The end fight was extremely boring and anticlimactic, with the tension immediately disappearing when superman shows up and completely shuts down steppenwolf.

> The villain himself, Steppenwolf, is one of the worst parts of this film. He literally has only one power/ability, which is swinging his pathetic axe around. He is an all CGI uninspired and forgettable villain who isn't menacing in the least. The fight he puts up in the end is disgraceful, with him swinging his axe around a bit then getting completely trashed by superman.

Probably in the minority here, but BVS for me was a 7/10, and this is a 5/10.
82 out of 125 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
WHY Warner Brothers.....WHY?
ezramandela17 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The film was okay. Definitely not bad. How I wish Warner Brothers experimented with more standalone films before they finally got to Justice League. As a big DC fan, I was a bit let down. 2hours was definitely not enough to put this film's story across. There were great plot points but everything just seemed to go by too quickly. Henry Cavill's CGI upper lip was very distracting, and his superman- even though I really liked him- but he was just too powerful for Steppenwolf, or maybe Steppenwolf was the one who was too weak for the story they were going for. For someone who wanted to destroy the world, I think he wasn't menacing enough. Ray Fisher was great as Cyborg, I liked Gal Gaddot as Wonder Woman, Mamoa as Aquaman, and even Miller as the flash. But I didn't like how the flash runs in this movie....his legs move in a weird way. Batfleck owned his role obviously. There were great moments in the film, especially when Superman returns and meets the team for the first time. Loved his reunion with Louise and his Mom, and I'm really looking forward to where this universe will go.

The first credits scene didn't do anything for me (I thought they'd both run instead of Superman flying).Many scenes in the trailer were not in the movie, and I feel like there was more to this film than what we get to see. The CGI also needed more polishing. It's definitely getting a lot more hate than it deserves. I really feel sorry for Zack Snyder...I know the backlash he gets from people will definitely affect his confidence as a director, especially for DCEU films and his vision of it.

I give this movie a 6.5/10. An argument can be made for 7/10. Anyone giving this movie more than a 7/10 is not being completely honest with themselves. I really looked forward to this movie, but the theatrical release hasn't done much for me. Definitely a forgettable movie.
70 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Better Than Expected But Deeply Flawed
garethvk15 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The long anticipated "Justice League" has finally arrived finally combining the biggest stars of the DC universe into one film. The proposed film has faced many obstacles on the way to the big screen ranging from script issues, massive reshoots and a change of Director for said reshoots due to a family tragedy that Director Zack Snyder suffered.

The film follows Batman (Ben Affleck) and Wonder Woman (Gal Godot), as they look to assemble a team of other gifted individuals to help fight off a pending invasion. The death of Superman has left a void on the Earth, and this has paved the way for an ancient evil to return as he attempts to conquer the planet after he collects the three needed artifacts that his plan requires.

In a race against time, Batman and Wonder Woman recruit Aquaman (Jason Momoa), The Flash (Ezra Miller), and Cyborg (Ray Fisher), to battle to save the planet. Naturally they battle amongst themselves as well as their massing enemies but ultimately decide on a dangerous plan that can tip the odds in their favor and save the day.

The action in the film is good but it often plays out like a video game. With so many blatantly obvious CGI backgrounds, the movie looked like a video game. There were numerous scenes that looked like they were lifted from Injustice and Injustice 2 that I muse d to myself that someone must have used their Power Up for the shot. Affleck and Gadot are good and work well with one another, but there are some serious casting issues with the film. The biggest for me was Ezra Miller as The Flash. I did not like his effeminate, nerdy, socially awkward, and neurotic and at times cowardly take on the character. This is not the Barry Allen I grew up reading in comics or the one that has been portrayed twice in a much better fashion on television. His comic relief status grew old fast and his character really offered little to the film.

It has been well-documented that Joss Whedon not only handled the rewrites for the film but took over directing duties to complete the film. You can see elements of his humor scattered throughout and the film does move along at a steady pace without dragging.

The biggest issue is that so many of the characters are just stiff and one-dimensional. They really are not overly interesting so it is hard to really connect with them and the tasks they are facing. Unlike Marvel who have excelled with dysfunctional groups who fight amongst themselves as well as the forces of evil, this group seems to be going through the paces rather than being fully engaged with the task at hand and each other.

In the end "Justice League" is better than I expected, and the two bonus scenes in the credits show some interesting potential down the road. As it is, it is flawed entertainment that requires audiences to overlook a lot of issues. 3 stars out of 5
118 out of 188 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
What is so expensive?
Matrix_Becker17 November 2017
I saw the Film last night and i have not an answer for what they need an budget of 300.000.000 USD. Ugly low-detail locations and semi effects. And this is the end of the world? Roland Emmerich would cry for this crap.

the rest of the film is very casual. not the best story so far and the villain is a big joke.
29 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Every One Star or Ten Star is a lie, it's a good movie, not terrible, not amazing, good.
Igor Neres14 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Hey, don't go with high expectations, the movie is far away from epic, but it's pretty fine and funny, I enjoyed a lot of stuff, the characters are awesome! Even Steppenwolf isn't the lame they said, he is just not memorable, he's OK, a generic villain who delivers what everyone should expect (come on, it's Steppenwolf, why would you guys expect a mind blower villain here?) The plot is simple and works. The only fatal flaw for a huge fan of DC is the return of Superman, damn, that's was sooo weird :/ And Zimmer would be so much better than Danny was, buuut there's nothing we can do about it now, at least it's nostalgic.
213 out of 354 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
A Zack Snyder film that Joss Whedon tried to clean up - and it shows. What a mess!
shreyanhota20 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
As we all know, Zack Snyder (BvS) has a very different vision of superhero movies than Joss Whedon (Avengers). This movie felt like a mish-mash of both incompatible styles. Scenes just happen without any connectivity, the plot is so generic it could have been written by a 5-year old. The attempt by WB Studios to Marvel-ise the movie by bringing in Joss Whedon and shoe-horning in comedy elements is nauseating. Yes, Flash has his comedic moments, but they feel very out of place. Superman's jokes are just out of character for what has been established.

This should not please BvS and Man of Steel fans, nor should it please Marvel fans who are more into character chops and comedy. What we have is a very unfocused movie with such an uninteresting villain that I felt like they just dragged and dropped him from a Mortal Kombat cutscene. Whatever they were trying to establish with Cyborg's struggle as a half-man half-machine falls way flat, so does Wonder Woman's attempt at being an anchor for the morality of the team. Batman just mopes around and Flash just goofs around. Jason Momoa was a standout, but that's the point - not enough screen time is devoted to any of these characters for us to like them. There are no character arcs.

There are certainly some good set pieces in the movie - the Amazon fight was good, so was the final fight scene, although it was very obvious they color-corrected much of it to look at least visible to the naked eye and for that I am thankful to Mr. Whedon. The stand-out scene for me was when Superman wakes up - Superman's fight with the team (although contrived in response to the success of Civil War) was interesting and I perked up for a moment, only to be undercut by Steppenwolf going "YOINK! Stole your BOX" and Superman returning to Smallville for the highly predictable recuperation scene with a sub-par Lois Lane performance and his mother (MARTHA!). Honestly, they missed a lot of great potential conflict with that subplot.

All-in-all, I am surprised by how much everybody seems to be liking movie. I can only attribute that to the die-hard DC fanboyism and the vocal immature majority of the internet. I just want to know what the comic book fans think of this movie. So many great stories involving the Justice League (can someone please show Chris Terrio and his WB overlords the Timmverse JLA series?) This movie falls flat on its face into sub-par cheese cartoonish territory with the rushed team-up plot line and no focus of character chemistry. This is exactly what you would expect from a Zack Snyder helmed WB-DC product which Joss Whedon was hired cleaned up. Kudos to Joss Whedon for adding/modifying scenes that made the movie at least slightly watchable, but I would have loved to have seen a Justice League movie totally helmed by Joss Whedon, or even one which truly represented Zack Snyder's vision (however bad it may be). A 50-50 product just made it schlock-central, a betrayal to all involved in the creative process and insulting to the viewers.
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
They have become the very thing they criticize
kalmarjerry14 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Funny that at least half of these positive reviews were made by a week-old,fresh accounts.These "fans" will always get mediocre movies as long as they protect them.Anyway,this is the 4th time of DCappointment.(w.woman was good). DC has officially become MCU 2.0.DC fans are criticizing MCU movies for obvious reasons.Yet they praise J.league even though it is just like a typical marvel/MCU movie. DC has become the very thing that DC fans hate and criticized over years. Villain was so weak,flash and aquaman were cringe(especially flash),pacing was so fast. The comedy was so forced and jokes were bad placed. Some people thought that they should make flash,cyborg,aquaman solo movies before the JL in order to develop the characters.And those people were absolutely correct.Those 3 characters really lacks development. DC is still making tons of mistakes in movie industry.I think they really need to reconsider the future of dc movies.
211 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The epic film we all hoped for? Not exactly
Frederik Barndorff16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Finally the Justice League movie has arrived. Some of us have waited all of our lives for this film, but is it any good?

Justice League is directed by Zack Snyder and stars Ben Affleck, Gal Gadot, Henry Cavill, Cieran Hinds, Jason Mamoa, Ezra Miller, Amy Adams, Jeremy Irons and J.K. Simmons. The story picks up where Batman V Superman left us. After the death of Superman the world has descended into chaos, but it's only the beginning. An alien invasion is on it's way led by the ruthless Steppenwolf. Now our heroes must put their differences aside and work together to save the planet!

It's well known that this film had a very difficult production. Zack Snyder had to step down do to a family tragedy and Joss Whedon took over and did some rewrites and shot extra scenes. One of my biggest fears going into this film was that it would feel like to different movies into one. With to different directors with each there distinct style it definitely was a risk, but i would say that it's not the case. Justice League feels like it's one director's vision, luckily.

But still this film suffers from a lot of problems. If you have been following my account for a while you will know that Justice League is one of my most anticipated films of the year. I also liked most of the other DCEU films, but sadly Justice League is a step down in my opinion. My main complaint and the biggest issue with it is that it feels very rushed in it's storytelling. A lot of conflicts are set up extremely quickly and therefor you don't feel the emotion that clearly was intended from the director. The rumor going around is that Warner Bros. mandated the films 2 hour run time, and in a lot of instances it feels like something is missing. Even whole scenes feels like they are missing. Also the CGI in this film Sometimes looks very bad and this takes you out of the movie sadly. These are the main complaints i have.

As for the positives there are still a lot of great things here. The new characters of Aquaman, The Flash and Cyborg are all portrayed very well and, though rushed, compelling characters. Especially Ezra Miller's Flash provides a lot of the humor. This is another good thing for some. Surprisingly Batman delivers a lot of the humor and i think it suite his character in this film. Justice League is a quite funny film and much more lighthearted than previous installments of this franchise. Sometimes though this becomes too much as the films lacks the seriousness that films like Wonder Woman had. The film is definitely best in the first half. I think the death of Superman is handled very well in the first act. The team dynamic is also a clear positive. The members have interesting arguments and conversations that we didn't get enough of. And when the team is United and start fighting, it's exciting for any fan to watch!

To sum up my thoughts Justice League is overall a disappointment. It feels rushed in almost every way and the story and film as a whole suffers from it. Also Steppenwolf as the villain feels like your everyday disposable Marvel villain like Malekith. There still are good things to see in this film and while watching i was entertained, but Justice League should have been much better. The first time this legendary team is on screen should have been an epic moment but it wasn't. Sadly.

Final rating: 6/10
85 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
We saw it, so you don't have to.
jpatrick-6863217 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I wasn't too sure about 'Justice League', but was assured that it was the sort of movie we liked, so off we toddled.

There are clearly gaps in our knowledge of super hero recent events. Mebbe they were on Fox. Anyway, Superman is dead! How the hell did THAT happen? Who is Cyborg? When did Khal Drogo eschew the steppe for the deep?

The earth is under attack. No surprises there. This time it's Steppenwolf and a host of dodgy CGI's. Steppenwolf looks to be your standard or garden earth imperiler. I don't know why he is called Steppenwolf. Hermann Hesse might. Dunno. Haven't read it.. Logic would indicate that it was to segue into "Born to be Wild' but it didn't and the movie is the poorer for it.

Steppenwolf is looking for three mystic boxes to put together to bring something that might be his mother back to rule the universe. I think. One was held by the Amazons, one by the Atlanteans, and one by a Russian farmer with a shotgun. Batman sets about putting together a team to defeat Steppenwolf. There is Aquaman, Cyborg, the Flash and Wonder Woman. But the Wolfster can go a bit and they are overmatched. To be fair, it's hardly your superhero 'A' team. They decide to bring Superman back from the dead. As you do. I thought that it was lucky that he hadn't been cremated then slapped myself for my stupidity.

Superman is bought back from the dead!

It was my fervent hope that he 'S' on the outfit would be changed into a 'Z' and his vocabulary would have been reduced to one word; and that word would be 'Brains' but alas, the 'Doom of ZombieMan' was to be a dream unrequited. It starts off promisingly enough with Superman being confused and very cross about recent events and generally smiting hither and thither but Lois Lane turns up and he, Superman, rogers her and gets over his temporary death and subsequent resurrection. The Justice League, now with Superman coming off the bench, set about saving the world.

Is it any good?

Nope. It's crap. Think 'Interstellar' in tights. The two people sitting next to us were drunk (at 10.00am; well done you!) and they clearly enjoyed it. We weren't and we didn't.

Would've been improved by;

1. Superman being reborn as one of the living dead 2. 'Born to be Wild' 3. Daenerys Targaryen 4. Being drunk
75 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
It is a very funny movie with good characters that we love.
Joe Yabuki15 November 2017
Unlike BvS, in this all the characters have their character and personality defined.The Flash is the nicest of all, he is the comic relief all the time. Aquaman is like a rocker, a rebel without a cause who is enjoying "la vida loca" and I want to see him in his solo movie. Cyborg is the most bitter, as it is a marginalized human-machine- alien mix. Batman and Wonder Woman have a good chemistry, and WW is still amazing. This is the Superman that I wanted to see in the cinema. The aspect of the parademons is incredible, they are like a kind of hybrid between vampires and insects and the combats with the protagonists are spectacular. Steppenwolf is horrible, very soft, lacked rudeness and character, in addition the CGI is bad, it seems a badly made video game. The CGI in Themyscira for example is terrible, but the action sequence is impressive. The reshoots are noticeable, like the CGI to remove the mustache to Henry Cavill. The dialogues of the film are not very good. The story is simple and is set for the common viewer to understand, simply "the bad guy wants 3 mother boxes to take down the world." The film fix some holes in BvS. The colors of the film are really high, they are alive and with intensity, totally different from BvS because of what the darkness was criticized. The film is cut, the priority of WB is obvious, and the scissors between the action scenes is visible to the naked eye, in addition many of the scenes of the trailers are not here. The action is good but in the previous films it is better. OST of #DannyElfman is forgettable, you just hear the theme of classic superman of 1978 and Batman of 1989 (And at the beginning when it comes in WW you hear Hans Zimmer's). The previous films were action dramas and the change of tone of this film is action adventure and comedy (they started the change with WW) and take the right path. It is not an epic film but in spite of all the failures I have HOPE in this universe. I liked it very much. PS: the two post-credits scenes are very good.
223 out of 412 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
You killed my dreams
ertu_hakan30 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The movie was complete disappointment for me. No deep content. When i was watching the movie i never fell excitement or joy. All predictable and boring. Your music also disappointed me. You come Superman alive and you did not play John Williams superman theme, that was sad. I am sorry but the movies from 40 years past are much better than this. Also what about the flash, bad actor bad role. Your low budget flash TV series even better than this. Flash and Superman were my favorite heroes sorry but you ruined them. Please do not make any other movies or learn something from marvel.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A Very Well Done DC Comic Movie Adaptation
mikenontonmulu15 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Wooooow! This movie was everything that I could hoped for in a team of superheroes movie. It was fun, intense, exciting, full of action and humor at the same time. And overall one heck of a very entertaining superhero movie. I had lots of fun watching this movie from beginning till end. The start of the movie was already making us intrigued, then slowly the revealing of other superheroes were totally cool. It was very enjoyable to see one by one introduced to us. When Wonder Woman was shown again, my wife was very ecstatic and she immediately was reminded why she loved that movie so much. Then when we were shown The Flash, Aquaman and Cyborg's abilities when they teamed up to fight Steppenwolf, it was amazing. But what was very enjoyable was actually the performance of Ezra Miller as the Flash, who was characterized as very fun, young superhero. He was able to make me less upset for taking over the role which I thought should have gone to Grant Gustin who portrayed as the Flash in the TV series. Lots of the funny moments involved him. Jason Momoa I think suit the role of Aquaman (and I cannot wait to see his solo movie in 2018). While Cyborg was the one character that felt not too much explored (perhaps only my feeling), although he did have brief moment of fun when relating with Barry Allen. The action sequences here were absolutely thrilling, intense and greatly done. There were so many of them that I loss count (not that I was really counting anyway). The solo fights of the superheroes, their brief internal fights and of course the climax scene which was totally awesome but still showed a bit of surprisingly funny moment (be sure not to miss that part). There were not a lot of dramatic moment here but as a movie of superhero team, this one certainly did not disappoint. My wife and I who are fans of comic superheroes, were really satisfied and absolutely thrilled with the whole movie. We even think of possibly watching the movie once again. The special effects and the sound effects were awesome! I am confident that you would get an even better experience watching it in a good quality theaters, especially ones with Dolby Atmos or in IMAX as it was shown in the end credit scene that the movie was specially formatted for IMAX. Talking about the end credit scene, there was 1 fun scene in the middle and another important scene at the very end which would give us excitement of the future movie of DC Extended Universe. I know that some people still could not find the good in the movie, perhaps due to the bias/low expectation, but I totally feel that it would be a shame if this movie was not enjoyed as a fun superhero movie. I honestly hope it would make most people satisfied. I am really recommending this to be seen as soon as you can, so you could discuss the movie with your friends or families.
171 out of 319 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Justice Comedy central
Karen Simonian16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, forget the dark tone of MoS and BvS, new Zack Snyder movie Justice League it is a comedy! And I think this could be one of problems of this movie. SO here is 3 main problems. PLS beware of spoilers below!!

Lets start with obvious problem which we saw in BvS and Suicide Squad – montage and editing. Warner seems like didn't learn they bad lesson at all. JL is a great example of terrible editing. All 2 Hours of movie you see different scenes hard cut one-by-one . Such switching between locations, Time and characters, may look like you was napping for few minutes and then suddenly wake up in the middle of some action scene. Time on screen for such characters like: Comm. Gordon, Mera, Martha Kent, Alfred - overall takes 5-6 minutes of screen time. Together! Some scenes which you was able to see and enjoy in Trailers are cutted. Well, probably fifth part of all scenes in all trailers - are NOT in the movie! SO, editing I think is the main and the biggest minus.

Second, it the tone and genre. By looking on colors you see that studio already leave gray tones like were in first movies, now we see more warm colors like it was in WW Themiscira world. That definitely positive moment. But changing genre by 180 degrees, from dark drama to colorful comedy, even for good purposes, it is completely stupid decision by Warner and DC. Some of action\fight scenes looks completely not dynamic. They are boring and you don't empathize to protagonist. Remember Bat fight in warehouse in BvS? You won't see this in again. Instead of this, we saw in opening scene, battle choreography like in Batman 1989, Michael Keaton level. I know that Danny Elfman was happy to bring 1989 Bat-theme to this movie, but create movie in 2017 and makes it style like it was from earlier 90-s, that is damn shame.

Third, characters and their chemistry. Main Antagonist. Forget about Steppenwolf from trailers and his lines "no protectors here .bla bla bla this world will fall..bla bla bla" and etc. and - Nope. Our guy spoke simple and annoying things so often that maybe this is main reason why JL need to stop him. The colors used for Stepenwolf - cold-gray pallet. Which is, I think, too insensibly for such character. Superman. Yes he is in the League. Yes he was returned from the dead. I will left details of this process. But the emotion that we saw on Clark face after his 'returning', and emotions after a day in hugs with Lois, changed his view on things. From brutal and cold Bizzaro to 'Your best friend neighbor Superman, from Kansas' only few hours in corn field with Lois and Mom, and you are ready for saving world and joking together with your new teammates.

Details, Mistakes, Mismatches all of this could by only 2 reason. On my opinion those were caused by: changing director + reshooting and hard cut. Just few quick examples. SPOILER below!! After Clark has been returned to his memory and mood, he flight to help his new friend. We saw him in in new suit where this suit come from? Who made it? We doesn't have answer. Another, very personal mistake. On first scenes somewhere close to abandoned nuclear plant, we saw old building with letters on the top – ОТЕЛ, - which translates as HOTEL – from Russian. In the scenes of final battle we see, another (or even the same building) with letters ГОТЕЛЬ – which also means HOTEL – but from Ukrainian. Yes maybe for many of you it is just small details, but believe me for Slavic people, in modern world, this is huge error. And it is based on disrespect from movie makers who just don't gives a sh*t on such things. I want to believe that this is Joss Whedon feature. He always put into his movies some empty civilian personages who are suffer during battles. And from Avengers time he didn't learn nothing about alphabets of other countries.

Positive moment(s). Chemistry of the Heroes. Relationships between Diana and Bruce, Victor and Barry,Arthur and all others members, it is great examples of how teams should look like. The Flash and Aquman are main positive moments and only because of them rating are higher than 5 stars. As a conclusion, my verdict 6.5\10. I really want to believe that we will see Ultimate version, and this will bring rating growth. But for now – I can stop expecting any positive moments from DC and Warner. They must to sit down, calm down, clear their minds and heard and find a final decision, what are they want to see more. Only money from fiction movies or movies with ideas and souls.
54 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I LOVED this movie!
CrissClown14 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Don't listen to the Marvel fans. This movie is great, tons of fun and LOTS of action. The characters are great and the story is fast-paced. The Flash steals the show and Aquaman is no longer a joke. Batman and Wonder Woman are always great and Superman.... Well, you'll just have to see it for your self. You can't ask for a better time at the movies!
250 out of 484 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nice-packed action movie! Entertaining!
Ricky Ramadhan15 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
One year and 7 months since BvS, the Trinity is back with additional members. A half-man half-robot guy, a man who can talk to fish, and a man who can only push something when he is running.

First, let's talk about each member character's development except the Trinity. First is Aquaman. Because of his role is somehow important in this movie, he's got a lot of background story. Can't explain more because there is a spoiler on it. Next is Cyborg. He has similar portion with the man who uses fork to fight. However, he has a significant role for the movie. Last is Barry Allen. The movie brings premise to Flash movie in the next year. Overall, it is great.

Move to the plot. Personally, I do find it fast-paced :( Maybe it is true that Zack Snyder is lack on delivering the story. Up until now, it bothers me why Warner Bros used this kind of plot to bring the league. Nevertheless, I was delightful to see the action scenes. The first last battle makes me shivers.

Conclusion's time! Justice League is a nice-packed of several action scenes movie. I would say that this movie is a jumping stone for their next crossover because of its lack essence of the story. For fanboys, there are lot of hints that you can find in the movie. It pleases your thirst, I mean hunger, for comic book references. The score is 8 of 10. (If it is seen by the action, I would definitely give it 9)'

P.S : There are two post end credit scenes. To be honest, the last credit scene almost make me lost my mind on DC Cinematic Universe. Totally love it.
95 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Been There, Done That
Robyn Harris16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well, once again we have the generic, boilerplate, superhero team flick. Team spends the first part of the movie unable to be a team. Then they finally and miraculously get it together just in time to fight the latest unstoppable big bad, who plans to destroy the city/country/continent/planet/galaxy/universe.

I'm Shocked! Shocked I Say, that they pull together and pull though just enough and we find out the city/ country/continent/planet/galaxy/universe is safe until the next, even bigger bad, who is waiting their turn patiently to rain down destruction when the next installment drops in two years.

At least this episode had a few obviously Whedonesque quipisms to drop into the tedium between the deadly dull plodding throughline Zack Snyder had deathmarched the audience into, but it was not enough to save us or the movie. I honestly felt like some of our protagonists should have been checking their watches an hour into the movie and asking, "Can we go beat the bad guy already?"

I am tired of this movie. I was tired of this movie when I saw this movie three movies ago.
58 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
No Justice Only league
john31016 November 2017
My rating of 1 does not indicate of how bad the movie quality is rather my disappoint with the ultimate result. My review doesn't comes out as a pure hate machine but rather due to the epic disappointment of one might feel after waiting for so long to witness the most epic team up quite possibly of this century to turn into a mediocre generic film.

This should've been the most epic saga in DCEU's continuity but alas rushing to compete with Disney finally took a toll on this franchise. The characters are well enough on their own but their development as individuals are rather paltry. The cinematography is awkward at times as evident from multiple re shoots done by Joss Whedon.

The CGI in some parts are terribly glaring to avoid and it feels too much green screen effect that makes your head hurt while watching in a dark room. Some are too bright while some are too dark. The color grading is very inconsistent with the background. As you all know Superman returns from the dead (which is kinda given at this point) but his resurrection isn't handled well enough. What should've been the rekindling of the hope people lost like the Rebirth of a Phoenix is marred by botched character interactions and idiotic dialogues.

The supporting characters such as Mera, Martha Kent and Alfred are wasted even further. One of the most highlighting parts of BVS was the interactions between Alfred and Bruce engaging in both morally and logical decisions. Sadly it's been reduced to banal banter between them and others. I'm not going to highlight the humor since it's overdone and doesn't fit organically in this film narrative. Humor is good and should be present but not forced and overstuffed like Disney films recently have become.

The villain is generic along with musical score by Danny Elfman which is just rehashing of the same old stuff. Wait for the 4K or bluray release to see edited scenes as consistent with DC's film which might be better.
49 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Screw the Critics...A Film the Fans will Love! ( and we bring the box-office )
trevir-2810119 November 2017
Justice League was Fantastic! This was for all the comic book and super hero fans and the DC Extended Universe delivered! There was plenty of action throughout, the plot was straightforward and it flowed well. It was a great time seeing 6 of the DC characters we know and love finally get together for the first time on the big screen and their characterization and interaction was enjoyable and on par. This is not a movie laden with thought provoking questions or deals with heavy social issues. It's just good guys vs bad guys and it goes great with popcorn!
161 out of 306 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The fans love the film critics hate it.
family-8814415 November 2017
Its the same old story when it come to films. Critics demolish a film and people who are interested to watch it don't and end up watching it illegally then realizing it was amazing. I experienced this when great reviews came out for guardians of the galaxy 2, I went to watch it and hated it. I enjoyed this film personally but don't take my word for it go watch it for your self. The movie brings together what we all hoped for, a team. its fun, bright and energetic with a balance of seriousness.

A piece of advice don't go into this movie expecting to watch a movie on the level of the dark knight. In my opinion the only film to ever get close to that was the dark knight rises. As for the DC cinematic universe expect an array of bright movies the next possible dark movie you'll get is probably THE BATMAN.
255 out of 496 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
"Justice" is Still Not Served
travishouze16 November 2017
I'm not a DC hater, nor am I a Marvel fanboy, and it's sad i have to start my review like this. I want DC to give Marvel some healthy competition while carving out their own identity, however Man of Steel, Batman v Superman, and Suicide Squad haven't given me hope. I had a good time with Wonder Woman but Justice League will be the deciding factor of it was one lucky shot or the beginning of correcting old faults.

Justice League takes place after the death of Superman as the world mourns, despite 70% of the world hating him how i remembered. A strange being by the name of Steppenwolf emerges and searches for three Mother Boxes that can bring a extreme level of destruction to the world. Bruce Wayne and Diana realize they can't do it all alone, so they bring a team together to fight and save the world.

As this is was a first time introduction to Cyborg, Aquaman and The Flash, the film does show they have some good chemistry back and forth with the team as they all individually show off their powers to help in a fight. Ezra Miller as The Flash in particular brings a lot of personality and Wonder Woman brings a sense of big sister keeping the little brothers together. Yes, we do get a moment with Superman and does lead to a fairly rousing moment.

But how does the villain feel on screen, well, honestly, STEPPENWOLF IS BORING. There is no character no clear motivation to why he is doing the things he is and proves that super villains just don't translate to live action (see X-Men: Apocalypse as a example). Also Cyborg, is interesting as his backstory seems, we never see it all come to play. The visuals are very much Zack Snyder, and at the same time there is a strangely over sexualized tone to Wonder Woman in how she is filmed (with occasional upskirt shots, and a lot of focus on her back) and poses the argument of the "male gaze" on several occasions.

To me, applauding Justice League for not sucking as much is like applauding a D student for getting a C on a final test. While there are moments of fun, some solid chemistry between the leads, i still feel like we still are a far distance for Justice to be truly served for the DC Extended Universe.

Also, there is a couple post credits scenes. One of them is a kind light hearted moment, and the other.....well go see and find out.
75 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews